Here’s who graduated from Leadership Maryland’s class of 2017

The following 52 people are 2017 graduates of Leadership Maryland, an independent statewide leadership program to develop informed senior-level leaders. The eight-month hands-on learning program is focused on the state’s most vital social, economic and environmental issues. Graduates were honored in a ceremony held Tuesday at the Lord Baltimore Hotel.

“These graduates have had experiences and built relationships over the past eight months that will impact their career, life, and our state for many years to come,”said Leadership Maryland Board Chairman Eric Brotman, president and managing principal of the Brotman Financial Group, a 2009 graduate of the program. “After 25 years, the influence Leadership Maryland’s program and alumni have had on the State of Maryland is immeasurable, and the Class of 2017 should be very proud to now be a part of this organization’s rich history.”

Leadership Maryland is open to senior-level executives with significant achievements in either their careers or their communities.


Listed here are the graduates, their titles, and places of employment:

Brandon S. Butler, Esq., deputy assistant secretary – Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning, Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; Brenda Cachuela, CPA, CRMA, CIA, director, Office of Audits, Maryland Department of Transportation; Deborah A. “Debbie” Carpenter, AICP, director of planning and land management, Garrett County; Bernard A. “Andy” Cheezum, Jr., CHC, vice president/owner, Willow Construction LLC; Michael E. “Mike” Cox, Jr., lecturer/section manager, University of Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute; Gregan Crawford, vice president of strategic initiatives, Garrett County Community Action Committee; James E. Deriu, vice president of natural resources management, KCI Technologies Inc.; John D. Diehl, MBA, vice president, Southway Builders Inc.; John T. Dumas, MBA, executive director, Service Coordination Inc.; Diana Ellis, MBA, vice president of advancement, Humanim Inc.; Loren N. Farquhar, director, marketing and communications, Anne Arundel Medical Center; Rebecca J. “Becky” Frank, vice president of development and marketing, Chase Brexton Health Care; Dustin W. Freas, H.M.S., NHA, chief development officer, Flagship Rehabilitation; John Genakos, director of development, MEDCO.

Also, Charles Glass, Ph.D., assistant secretary for transportation policy analysis and planning, Maryland Department of Transportation; Rajiv K. “Raj” Goel, Esq., principal, Offit Kurman, P.A.; Heather M. Gramm, assistant director, Frederick County Office of Economic Development; Amy M. Gross, executive director, France-Merrick Foundation; Jennifer J. Hammaker, director, Maryland Innovation Initiative, Maryland Technology Development Corp. (TEDCO), Brian W. Hammock, Esq., resident vice president, CSX Transportation Inc.; Husher L. Harris II, vice president, Avaris Concepts LLC; Chris D. Hoyson, division vice president, The Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Lucille “Lucie” Hughes, vice president for institutional advancement, Chesapeake College; Mary Elizabeth “MaryBeth” Hyland, founder and chief visionary, SparkVision; Mary Frances Isakov, administrative vice president and group manager, M&T Bank; Martha Lessman Katz, Esq., attorney at law, Lessman Katz Law; Traci L. Kodeck, CEO, HealthCare Access Maryland; Jonathan M. “Jon” Kucskar, Esq., senior commission advisor, Maryland Public Service Commission.

Also, Shannon C. Landwehr, president and CEO, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore; Stephanie C. Lansey-Delgado, executive officer to the deputy commissioner, Baltimore City Police Department; Jennifer B. Litchman, chief communications officer and vice president, Special Assistant to the President, University of Maryland Baltimore; Shelley Jarrad Lombardo, MBA, chief revenue officer, Evergreen Advisors LLC; James G. “Jimmy” Lunnermon II, director of alumni development, University of Maryland-Eastern Shore; Julie Madden, arts advocate; Shanak K. “Shan” Maitra, Ph.D., LEED AP, president, Artiam Solutions; Roy C. McGrath, director/CEO of Maryland Environmental Service, State of Maryland; Meredith M. “Merry” Mears, director of economic development, Worcester County; Wanda K. Oneferu-Bey, executive vice president, consumer direct business, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield; Barbara J. “Julie” Paluda, MBA, deputy director, enterprise fund, Calvert County; Signe J. Pringle, managing director-Office of International Investment and Trade, Maryland Department of Commerce; John W. Renner, Jr., senior development director, Cross Street Partners.

Also, Hon. James H. “Jimmy” Rhee, special secretary – Governor’s Office of Minority Affairs, State of Maryland; Karyn A. Riley, Esq., director of intergovernmental relations, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; John E. Rodenhausen, Maryland director of major giving, Chesapeake Bay Foundation; Christine A. Ross, CCE, MBA, MS, president and CEO, Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Andrew Sargent, senior business development representative, western region, Maryland Department of Commerce; Deborah E. “Deb” Sharpless, CPA, deputy executive director – Maryland Transportation Authority, Maryland Department of Transportation; Jody J. Sprinkle, principal policy analyst – Maryland General Assembly, State of Maryland; Joy A. Strand, executive director, Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission; Barbara K. Wagner, Leadership Frederick program and external events coordinator, Frederick County Chamber of Commerce; Chad H. Ward, CEO, Railey Mountain Lake Vacations; Nico Washington, MBA, associate provost for financial management, University of Maryland-Baltimore County.


More Posts: